EU Programme

Lifelong Learning Programme

The European Union Life Long Learning Programme supported learning opportunities from childhood to old age in every single life situation. This programme is now complete and the new Erasmus plus programme has taken its place

It had a budget of € 7000 millions for the period 2007-2013, and was the successor to the Socrates, Leonardo da Vinci and eLearning programmes.

Grants and subsidies were awarded to projects and activities that foster interchange, promote bilateral and multilateral partnerships, foster trans-national mobility of individuals and promote quality in education and training systems throughout Europe.

The programme was built on four pillars, or sub-programmes:

The Comenius programme for pupils, teachers, schools and related institutions/ organisations (pre-school and school education up to the level of the end of upper secondary education)

The Erasmus programme for students, scholars, professors, universities and related institutions/organisations (higher education, including trans-national student placements in enterprise)

The Leonardo da Vinci programme for apprentices, workers, employees and related institutions/organisations (vocational education and training).

The Grundtvig programme for adults, teachers and related institutions/organisations active in the field of adult education.

These four pillars were joined by the ‘transversal programme’, which pursued 4 key activities:

  • Policy cooperation and innovation (KA1)
  • Languages (KA2)
  • Information and communication technologies – ICT (KA)
  • Dissemination and exploitation of results (KA4)

A database of completed European projects can be found at: